SCAR OF THE SUN Announce Official New Lineup

  • Post category:News

Athens, Greece-based modern metal outfit SCAR OF THE SUN announces their new lineup with Jimmy Rokko on guitars. Jimmy has been part of the band for a year now, making appearances on SCAR OF THE SUN’s socials already, so officially introducing him as a member of the band has been a long time coming. Jimmy is also known as his father’s guitarist, Greek national icon Stelios Rokkos, playing shows across the country in front of thousands of people on the regular. Professional attitude, straightforward energy, and a whole lot of creative fire run in the family.

Scar Of The Sun Band Photo by Cristina Alossi 2022

Extremely delighted about the new addition to SCAR OF THE SUN, vocalist Terry Nikas comments: “When the band needed a new guitarist, we were quite concerned because it’s not easy to find a person with a combination of great musicianship and aesthetics, cool personality, and ready for a serious commitment. Then we found Jimmy and it was like he was the one single missing piece! We can’t wait to share with the world the new material we are doing together and tour with him everywhere possible!”

Sharing this excitement, Jimmy adds “Joining a heavy metal band was a dream since I was a little kid. It’s like a fulfillment. I feel like I was a stray dog and Scar of the Sun is the home that I was searching for.”

To mark the occasion, the band worked on a fresh set of press photos together with Greek music artist photographer Christina Alossi. 

After the band’s inception in the late 2000s in London, UK, SCAR OF THE SUN has released three albums, namely “A Series of Unfortunate Concurrencies” in 2011, and “In Flood” in 2016; their latest album “Inertia” released via Napalm Records in 2021. All three albums were very successful and gained raving reviews all over the world. SCAR OF THE SUN toured Europe four times with the likes of Dark Tranquillity, Moonspell, Pain, Rage, TYR, Firewind and many other bands.

Casually revealed on their socials, they are currently pre-producing a fourth album, and trustworthy sources can confirm a sound and songwriting profile heavy to the core and thick with progressive influences. We can’t wait to hear the new material!

Watch the band’s previously released music videos for Inertia, I Am The Circle, Quantum Leap Zero II – Transition To Turbulence, and Anastasis.

Terry Nikos – Vocals
Greg Eleftheriou – Guitar
Jimmy Rokko – Guitar
Panagiotis Gatsopoulos – Bass
Thanos Pappas – Drums